Home > ALEC's NC legislators > Co-chairs of NC’s Environmental Review Committee belong to ALEC

Co-chairs of NC’s Environmental Review Committee belong to ALEC

The NC General Assembly’s  Environmental Review Committee has authority over the state’s Division of Environmental Resources (DENR) and tremendous power over the future  air, water, land and the health of living beings and ecosystems of our state.  For example, the commission is currently considering abolishing the state’s Air Toxics Program which monitors facilities that produce toxic air pollution and evaluates the public health impact. (For a good overview, see a WRAL report from September 2011).

Members of this Environmental Review Committee who belong to ALEC include:
Senator David Rouzer, Co-Chair
Representative Ruth Samuelson, Co-Chair
Representative Chuck McGrady.

The ALEC-influenced S781 bill passed by the NC GOP legislature in 2011 gives the Environmental Review Committee increased powers over DENR and requires DENR to  review all its rules, report those that exceed federal standards, and, in keeping with the dictums of ALEC, to repeal those that do.

The Air Toxics Program is said to be more stringent than Federal requirements, but in 2007, North Carolina was ranked 4th highest in the country for hazardous air pollutants. [Oy.  No wonder I can’t breathe when I’m working in my garden during the summer!]

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: