Home > About this blog > About this blog

About this blog

This blog is my attempt to gather information about the growing influence of the American Legislative Exchange Council (ALEC) on the laws and legislative process in North Carolina and on the future of the state and all who live here.

The intended audience is North Carolinians and the bright, brave folks all over the country who are working so hard to bring the activities of ALEC under public scrutiny.  Despite its clever use of  patriotic-sounding buzz-words, the motives driving ALEC seem to have little to do with old-time Conservatism and a lot to do with profiteering and the devolution of our democracy into a new corporacracy.

My intended purpose is to be helpful. I confess that I am deeply distressed by what I have discovered about ALEC over the past several months. I will, however, do my best to stick to the facts and keep my feelings out of it. To paraphrase Julia Cameron, facts are our friends – they’re not always nice friends, but they’re loyal.

Categories: About this blog Tags: ,
  1. Anna
    March 1, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    Hello –

    I am currently working on a TV special about ALEC and would like to talk with you further about some of the information you have on your blog. Please respond to my email address (hopefully listed below), so that I can explain a bit more about the project.

    Thank you.

  2. Ron Rabatsky
    March 16, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    Hi, I want to applaud you on your site. I am a researcher of ALEC, involved with the Voters Legislative Transparency Project. We have many GB of research on ALEC accumulated over the years. If we can ever help you in your quest to expose ALEC, that is what we do so please never hesitate to ask.

    Our site is on Facebook at this time, and you might want to take a look at some of our more recent posts (scrolling down is such a pain). We are developing a web site which will have a link to a database we are building for legitimate ALEC researchers to get access to our data. But for the time being, if there is anything you are looking for, feel free to send me an e-mail at the address I filled in, or through our FB site. My FB pseudonym is Dis Gust, and you should feel free to post a message on FB to me.

    • March 20, 2012 at 11:54 am

      Super – Thanks for your comment and your offer of help. Sadly, not many North Carolinians seem aware of the ALEC/corporate take-over of our state. I’m wondering if there is any good defense as long as ALEC is not designated as a mega big-time lobbying organization by the IRS, etc. I think what ALEC & co is doing is profoundly corrupt, but a response from an ALEC legislator to me pointed out that it is currently legal.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

